India wins T20I against Ireland

With one game remaining, the team captained by Jasprit Bumrah defeated Ireland by 33 runs to win the series.

Jasprit Bumrah captained the side for the series / Image-X/@BC

India defeated Ireland by 33 runs in the second Twenty20 International (T20I) at The Village in Dublin winning the series in two of the three games. After being asked to bat first, India started off slow but managed to rack up a difficult 185/5 in 20 overs.

 After India lost Yashasvi Jaiswal (18 off 11 balls) and Tilak Varma (1 off 2 balls) within the powerplay overs, Ruturaj Gaikwad, put on an impressive performance and scored 58 runs off of 43 balls. He and Sanju Samson formed a crucial 71-run partnership. However, Benjamin White sent the latter back to the stands for a 40 (26).

 Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube then made a strong cameo appearance, contributing 42 runs between them in the final two overs. Dube scored 22(16), remaining not out, while Rinku scored 38(21).

Ireland's response had a disastrous start, almost like India's. In his first over, Prasidh Krishna delivered two blows, and in the final over of the powerplay, Ravi Bishnoi added a third. Except for Andrew Balbirnie, who scored 72 runs off 51 balls, no other Irish batsman was able to withstand the Indian bowling attack led by captain Jasprit Bumrah. Ireland could only muster 152/8 in 20 overs, with the captain, Krishna, and Bishnoi each taking two wickets.









E Paper