Suryakumar Yadav named captain for T20i against Australia

Shreyas Iyer would serve as the vice captain for the last 2 matches in the series

Bhavana P

Suryakumar Yadav all set for captaincy / Image - ICC

Suryakumar Yadav has been selected as the captain of the Indian side for the five-match  T20 bilateral series against Australia, which begins on November 23 in Visakhapatnam. VVS Laxman will be the head coach for the five-game series, which concludes on December 3 in Bangalore.

The majority of the group who played in Ireland have been retained, with the exception of captain Jasprit Bumrah, who has been rested. Prasidh Krishna, who was part of the World Cup squad, is expected to play in the series, while Hardik Pandya, who is injured, has been ruled out. He would have captained the squad if he had been fit.

Axar Patel, who was left out of India's ODI World Cup squad previously because of an injury he suffered in the lead-up to the competition, will also be making a comeback on this tour. Sanju Samson, who participated in India's most recent T20 international assignment in Ireland, has been replaced by Ishan Kishan. In the meantime, Jitesh Sharma has held onto his position.

The selection committee, which convened in Ahmedabad on Monday, had debated whether to name Shreyas Iyer captain but ultimately opted against it due to the amount of work he has taken on in recent months, beginning with the Asia Cup. But as vice captain, he will travel with the team to Raipur and Bengaluru for the final two T20 Internationals.

The final Indian lineup includes Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar.