Skip to content

Ricky Kej and 12 refugee singers sing the national anthem to embark the Independence day

Under the title of 'Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav', India is celebrating the 75th anniversary of its liberation from British rule.

Source: Official Twitter account of Ministry of Culture (Govt. of India)

The Indian national anthem, "Jana Gana Mana," was performed by 12 singers who are refugees in India representing four different nationalities  in honour of the nation's 75th anniversary of independence.  

According to a video posted on Twitter by the Union Ministry of Culture on August 14, it was sung by 12 artists from countries such as Afghanistan, Myanmar, Sri Lanka, and Cameroon. Grammy Award-winning musician Ricky Kej also performed with the other singers.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Log in