Raja Rajamannar, Bal Nandra win Ellis Island Medal of Honor

Raja Rajamannar and Dr. Guriqbal Nandra will receive the medals on May 18

Raja Rajamannar and Dr. Guriqbal Nandra. / Images- LinkedIn and Serenity Foundation

The Ellis Island Honors Society (EIHS) recently announced the recipients of the 2024 Ellis Island Medal of Honor, one of America’s most prestigious awards.

The list includes two Indian Americans—Raja Rajamannar, Chief Marketing & Communications Officer for Mastercard and Chicago-based anesthesiologist Dr. Guriqbal Nandra. 

The honor, awarded annually since 1986 to Americans, both U.S. born and naturalized, who represent and contribute to the rich mosaic of the nation, will be presented to the recipients on May.18 during a black-tie gala held in Ellis Island's Great Hall.

Raja Rajamannar has been credited for transforming Mastercard into one of the fastest-growing brands in the world.  Under his leadership the company became one of the top 12 most valuable brands in the world. In addition to serving as the company’s CMO, he is also the founding president of its healthcare business.

His book, ‘Quantum Marketing: Mastering the New Marketing Mindset for Tomorrow’s Consumers’ is a Wall Street Journal bestseller and has  become a touchstone for marketing leaders and academics around the world. Rajamannar received his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Osmania University and Master of Business Administration from the Indian Institute of Management in Bangalore.

Dr. Guriqbal Nandra, better known as Bal Nandra, is the founder of IV Solution and Ketamine Centers of Chicago. With over two decades of clinical experience, Dr. Nandra has performed almost 10,000 ketamine infusions and led the center to become among the most successful and well-respected ketamine clinics in the country.

A Punjab-native, Dr Nandra completed his residency in anesthesiology at the University of Chicago, his residency in general surgery at Spectrum Health-Butterworth Campus in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and earned his Doctor of Medicine degree from the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and Health Sciences.








E Paper