Skip to content

Kharge to head Indian National Congress

After more than 9,500 ballots are tallied, the party elects its first non-Gandhi president in 24 years

Interim President of Congress Party, Sonia Gandhi congratulates Mallikarjun Kharge on being elected as the Congress President. (Picture credit: AICC)

Veteran politician Mallikarjun Kharge won the internal vote to lead the Congress party, the biggest opposition force in India. Despite facing off against charismatic MP Shashi Tharoor, Kharge easily won the election with eight times the number of votes.

At the AICC headquarters, the counting of the votes cast on Oct. 17, 2022 started at 10 am. Kharge's victory is historic because he succeeds Sonia Gandhi, the longest-serving party leader, who has been in office since 1998, with the exception of the two years between 2017 and 2019 when Rahul Gandhi presided.

This post is for paying subscribers only


Already have an account? Log in