Skip to content

FIA elects executive committee members for 2023

The newly elected members included three individuals from the FIA women's team.

FIA elects new executive committee members for 2023. All images - FIA

The Federation of Indian Associations (FIA) along with its member organizations held an Annual General Meeting on Sunday, Dec.4, 2023 to elect new exceutive committee members for 2023.

The newly elected members include Kenny Desai, president; Dr. Avinash Gupta as executive vice president; vice presidents Saurin Parikh and Smitamiki Patel; Nishi Dhami as general secretary; Mahesh Dubbal as joint secretary; Priti Patel as treasurer and Haresh Shah as joint treasurer.

Desai was unanimously re-elected to serve another term as the president of the diaspora organisation. Upon reelection he said he looks forward to making the upcoming year a successful one for FIA by holding events which will make their motherland India shine again in their homeland the United States of America.

"The general body meeting was to share an overview of the compliance of all member organizations and to assess the overall workings of the FIA and its activities. In addition, the meeting motioned and approved 6 FIA resolutions to the FIA bylaws," an official statement by FIA noted.

Established in 1970, FIA is the oldest and largest diaspora organization that represents Indian Americans across Northeast USA. The organization through its various chapters holds numerous events to engage the diaspora community including its most famous annual India Day Parade.