Skip to content

Biden appoints two Indian Americans to Advisory Committee

Advaithi recognized on Fortune’s Most Powerful Women in Business list for four consecutive years and Bapna served as executive vice president and managing director of the World Resources Institute.

Chief Executive Officer of Flex, Revathi Advaithi and President and CEO of the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC), Manish Bapna.

US President Joe Biden named two Indian-American CEOs, Revathi Advaithi and Manish Bapna to the Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations along with 12 other individuals on March 10, 2023.

According to a White House statement the advisory committee provides overall policy advice to the United States Trade Representative on matters of development, implementation, and administration of the US trade policy.

A Birla Institute of Technology and Science graduate, Advaithi is the chief executive officer of Flex, the global manufacturing partner of choice that helps a diverse customer base design and build products to improve the world.

Prior to Flex, Advaithi was president and chief operating officer of the electrical sector business at Eaton. Named as one of Business Today’s Most Powerful Women in India, she is a co-chair of the World Economic Forum (WEF) Advanced Manufacturing CEO Community and is a part of the WEF Alliance of CEO Climate Leaders. Additionally, she serves on the board of directors of Uber and

An economist, Manish Bapna is the president and CEO of the Natural Resources Defense Council (NRDC). During his 25-year career, Bapna’s leadership roles have focused on tackling the root causes of poverty and climate change with strategies that are equitable, durable, and scalable, the White House said.

Harvard alumnus, Bapna started at McKinsey & Company and the World Bank before pursuing a career in advocacy at the Bank Information Center. He has master’s degrees in Business and Political and Economic Development from Harvard University and a bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from MIT.

The committee includes up to 45 members recommended by the U.S. Trade Representative and appointed by the President. Members have expertise in general trade, investment, and development issues, including representatives of non-federal governments, labour, industry, agriculture, small business, service industries, retailers, nongovernmental environmental and conservation organizations, and consumer interests, the White House release noted.