Skip to content

Two Indian Americans honoured with Young Urologists Award

Doctors were selected by their colleagues who serve on the Young Urologists Committee and endorsed by their respective Section/Society to receive this special honor for 2023.

Imag(L to R) Dr Nitya Abraham and Dr Rena Malik and

Two Indian- American medical professionals were conferred with the Young Urologists of the Year Award for 2023 by American Urologist Association in recognition of their efforts and commitment to advancing the development of fellow young urologists.

Dr Rena Malik and Dr  Nitya Abraham were selected along with six others to receive this special honor for 2023, the Association shared in a statement.

Since her fellowship, Dr Malik has been an engaged and innovative young urologist in the Mid-Atlantic Section. She served as Chair of the Section's Resident's Day in 2022 and has been on the MAAUA Awards Committee, according to the Association.

NYU School of Medicine graduate, Dr Malik is the recipient of the William D. Steers Award of the Urology Care Foundation 2021. She started the South Asian Wellness platform to help educate the South Asian community on pertinent healthcare issues, her profile added.

Program Director for the Montefiore Urology residency program, Dr Abraham is an Associate Professor at Albert Einstein College of Medicine, according to the association.

New York University alumnus and a prolific researcher, Abraham has also served the AUA as an Oral Board Review Course faculty member and QIPS/MEP member. She is a member of the Society for Urodynamics, Female Pelvic Medicine, and Urogenital Reconstruction (SUFU) Young Urologists Committee and social media committee, her profile added.